The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

It pains me to admit this publicly: one of my newest guilty pleasures is young adult fiction series. Ohh the shame… But I don’t think I’m alone here. Not only have I noticed other fellow 20 somethings make furtive sideways glances before dashing into the Tween section; the papers are starting to out us. But I’ve never read to impress others, always for pure enjoyment. And sometimes enjoyment comes in the form of a 17 year old girl killing others in a man-made arena so as not to be killed herself. So be it.

The Hunger Games (i.e. the new Twilight) is set years in the future, after the fall of the modern world. Set in what’s left of Canada and the U.S. are 12 separate districts with zero open lines of communication. District 1, The Capitol, rules the empire. Every year, two representatives between the ages of 12 and 17 are chosen at random from each district. They are then taken to the Capitol, given minimal weapons and combat training and sent to a simulated environment to hunt and kill each other – and quite viciously at that. Last one standing wins the game. Follow me so far? Main character Katniss Everdeen volunteers to take her sister’s place when her name’s plucked out against all odds. And so starts the trilogy.

I read all three books in less than a month. Hindsight has me thinking I should have done three separate posts…

Book one, The Hunger Games: phenomenal. Truly suspenseful, grabs you right at the start and has tons of twists. By far the best of the three.

Book two, Catching Fire: also great and full of suspense. This one really sets up the premise of the third book.

Book three, Mockingjay: this is where the love kind of died. I won’t say it dragged, but there was a definite shift in pace. Good twist at the end and I love the continued reappearance of Buttercup.

Movies are on the way, naturally, with the first one out next month. For those of you who have read it – thoughts on who she ended up with? Was it what you predicted?

 

This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

  1. E M says:

    LB, I was thinking about these books this morning as I randomly remembered seeing the preview for the movie. I am definitely interested in reading these next!

    PS NICE BLOG!

  2. Leesh says:

    I am a 30-something obsessed with YA so it goes beyond 20’s. If you liked Hunger Games, check out Divergent!

  3. I’ll check it out, thanks!

Leave a Reply

